Science Fair Project Encyclopedia
Hit the ball twice
Law 34 of the Laws of cricket provides that:
"(a) The striker is out Hit the ball twice if, while the ball is in play, it strikes any part of his person or is struck by his bat and, before the ball has been touched by a fielder, he wilfully strikes it again with his bat or person, other than a hand not holding the bat, except for the sole purpose of guarding his wicket. See 3 below and Laws 33 (Handled the ball) and 37 (Obstructing the field).
"(b) For the purpose of this Law, 'struck' or 'strike' shall include contact with the person of the striker."
The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.
It is very unusual for a batsman to get out 'hit the ball twice'. It has never happened in test match cricket or one-day internationals. One example of it happening in first class cricket happened in 1906 when John King, playing for Leicestershire against Surrey at The Oval tried to score a run after playing the ball twice to avoid getting bowled. Since then, the rule has changed so that a batsman can score a run in this circumstance, making this method of dismissal the second rarest after timed out.
The contents of this article is licensed from www.wikipedia.org under the GNU Free Documentation License. Click here to see the transparent copy and copyright details